Texas has really weird weather. We’ve had it hot, cold and then hot again in the same week. Today it’s supposed to be 95 degrees and it’s only April. Dog Days are supposed to come in the summer, but it already feels that way.

But I am happy, regardless. Serendipity is a nice thing. Having things fall into place at the right time is always good. Here’s what’s happening to me:

1. I finally received my 1 cent book. I discovered Allen Steele (somewhere; I can’t remember where) as a promising author (promising to me; he’s already won all kinds of prizes including two Hugo awards). I downloaded a sample chapter of his book “Coyote” from iBooks and immediately fell in love. I’d like to say he writes like me (clear, direct writing with not a lot of embellishments), but I haven’t won my Hugo yet, so all I can do is learn from him. Anyway, I found a copy of “Coyote” on Amazon.com for a penny and paid $3.99 for shipping and handling. It arrived yesterday and I am excited that I have something good to read.

2. My daughter has a good shot at a job! Times have been tough for all of us with too many people and too little money to pay bills. She did a good job helping out with the school play, but now it’s time to focus on getting a paying job. The job is in Jefferson, Texas, where she has taught before. It’s not ideal, but what job is? So she is in serious discussion with them, and we are praying that things work out in the meantime.

3. Got the tax man off my back. I have been struggling for a while, trying to figure out how to pay our taxes. Scrimping and saving helped us put together a large chunk of the money that’s due, and after spending 1 1/2 hours on hold, I finally talked to the IRS by phone and arranged to pay the rest over the next 120 days. That’s very doable.

4. Classes are over at the end of next week. Summer is knocking at the door. I already have commitments threatening to take over my summer, but I am not going to let that happen. My personal commitment is to work out every day, and get back into serious writing. I live in hope, which is the real advantage of having a future.

So I am happy. God continues to be good to me and mine.